My invite

12 09 2007

During the school year I work with autistic kids at an elementary school.  One of the things I do is sit with a kindergartener during lunch and help him eat.  He would much rather run and jump around, so it is a challenging task, to say the least.  We sit with the rest of the kindergarteners and the other day a little girl sat across from us.  She was very sweet and thoughtful.  She was telling me about how if her class gets 20 gumballs, they get to have a popcorn party.

“That’s sounds so fun!”  I say, “Popcorn is delicious!”  I pumped up my enthusiasm since I could tell this was a big deal for her. 

She then says, “Well maybe sometime you can come over and watch a movie and we can get my mom or dad to make us some popcorn.”  So cute.

I can’t help but crack up thinking about her asking her mom and dad if her friend, Tina, could come over and in walks a 34- year- old, who clearly needs to GET A LIFE!  It is fun talking to the 5-year-olds.  I love their perspective and they are so darn cute!

And, for the record, I do have friends my own age. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

