My angel

6 11 2007

My boy and meFor as long as I can remember, Jake and I have prayed before bed.  And I always thank God for letting me be Jake’s mom.  I say this out loud, so that Jake hears it.  It’s just something I do…I think it’s important for Jake to know that no matter how grumpy I get that I am cherishing the role that God has given me. 

So tonight we are praying.  Sometimes Jake prays, sometimes he doesn’t, but he usually wants me to go first.  Tonight was no different.  I pray and then it is Jake’s turn.  He runs through his usual what he’s grateful for: this space that we have to live in, mom, dad….etc.  Then he adds a sentence that is new.  He says, “Thank you for letting be my mom’s son.  And my dad’s son.”

I was so impressed with him.  I usually am.  He amazes me everyday.  I try not to take it for granted, but I’m sure I don’t appreciate like I should.  I do know that I don’t know what I would do without him.  He has one of the best senses of humor that I have ever heard.  He does a Christopher Walken impression.  It’s turned into quite a routine.  It is absolutely hilarious. 

I was holding him and told him that he must be an angel.  He says, “Yep, all I’m missing is a halo and some wings.”  I agree, son, I agree,

And I just thank God that I seem to have done something right.  With His help, of course.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 11 2007
Big Pumpkin

That was so sweet of Jake. Brilliant idea to pray every nite before bed. I think I’ll start that with Tee. We’re not consistent at the moment but we really have so much to be thankful for.

20 11 2007
Make someone happy | A Mother’s Monologue

[…] for children and I encourage it in any form, whether you have a religion or not. Thank you to this amazing mom who started this little activity […]

Leave a Reply

