S.O.S.

6 12 2007

Lord.  I don’t even know where to begin.

Jake and I went to dinner with his dad, my ex-husband.  It was fun.  We get along and it feels comfortable, easy.  Too easy sometimes.  I waffle between regret (momentarily) and certainty.  I know this is for the best.  We are friends…period.  Still thoughts race through my mind.  Mostly thoughts of him being with another woman and changing for her.  Learning that I just wasn’t good enough to change for.

After dinner, they dropped me off and I went to get my nails done.  And I was still awash in all these thoughts.  So I went to work.  Which is where I know the man I was supposed to go out with on Friday from.  He works the shift after mine.  I didn’t talk to him directly at shift change, just to others around us.  Anyway, he called me while I was in the elevator, and again while I was walking to my car.  I answered neither call.

Fifteen minutes later, he called again.  I answered.  Here is where it gets interesting.  He told me that I look so beautiful.  He asked if we could try going out again.  He explained some of his thoughts.  During our conversation, he tells me that he is going to a wedding this weekend.  I asked him if he had ever been married.  He says that he is working on it now.  That he wants to get together.  He will be waiting.  His words were so kind and caring.  My concern is how jaded I am.  He was saying all these sweet things, and I just laughed at him.  I have known him for nearly 7 years.  We have been friends and joked around.  It is not the makings of a one night stand.  I told him that he was laying it on pretty thick.  So, is chivalry dead?  Or is it just dead to me?

OR am I being played??  Ugh.  I can’t even tell anymore.

Help.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 12 2007
Big Pumpkin

If I were you? I’d just take each day as it comes without thinking of the past nor the future. Enjoy your son, smell the roses and live life to your fullest……everything else will fall into place. of course, it isn’t easy not thinking….. We are women after all!

6 12 2007
Sandy

Being divorce leaves everyone (I think) a little bitter. My suggestion is to take things one tiny step at a time. The very last thing you want to do is analyze the heck out of relationships, especially ones that haven’t been established.

As for your friendship with Jake’s dad, I wouldn’t put to much stock into the maybe I made a mistake department. When I look at Craig I do the same thing, but I remember once again why we aren’t together and I know that it was best for me and my children. His actions now can be read in many different ways. He could finally realize that the he was a monster of an ass and wants to change now, or he’s just putting on a show to get you back. You never know, but it is always better to be safe than sorry.

I say that if another woman wants him, let her have him. Not all the years together were bad, but that’s a headache you don’t want anymore!

Leave a Reply

