The date

17 12 2007

I went on my first post-divorce date last week.  It was fun.  It was good to get out there and get to know someone new.  He was nice and all but he kept tlaking about his ex-wife (they have been divorced for 2 years) and his ex-girlfriend (they broke up 11 months ago).  Give me a break.  I have been divorced a month and, on a date, I will answer questions when specifically asked.  I make jokes about the ex in social settings.  But I try not to spend a good majority of the conversation talking about what “we” used to do.  There is no “we” I have done things with the ex, but to spend a first date reminiscing about what “we” used to do.  I heard all about their trips to Eureka Springs and countless other stories.  And he would forget what he had talked to me about, so I would hear the same stories.  I will give him the benefit of the doubt and go out with him again, if the opportunity arises.

On a positive note, other than his exes, we did have a lot to talk about and it did not feel uncomfortable.  I think it has to do with how much I have changed and, finally, feel comfortable in my skin and with who I am.  That has been a long, treacherous road, and will be something that I continue to work on.

I don’t particularly like the idea of New Year’s Resolutions.  I would like to think that I resolve be a better person and work on specific goals that get me there more often than once a year.  My friend Sandy made a “non-resloutions” list of 10 things to do before 2009. I think it’s a great idea. I will be thinking about what mine are/will be. What are yours?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

