Un-Valentine’s Day

12 02 2008

sex_and_the_city_iso.jpg

Valentine’s Day is the dumbest “holiday.”  I usually find myself in one of two situations, one pretending to be into someone, due to the fact that he 1.) Present and available and 2.) Has a heartbeat.  I much prefer little ways of showing love and concern throughout the year.  I have had a few boyfriends that were really good at it.  It means more to me to have the man in my life remember little things that I like-favorite food, favorite TV shows, favorite movies.  The second situation, I find myself in much more frequently, is alone.   

Also, it was on Valentine’s Day eleven years ago that I was in a serious car accident.  My mom now views V-Day as the “day Tina didn’t die.”  This reason really has nothing to do with this post.  So read on.

I cancelled “Sex and the City” from my DVR rotation.  Anyone who knows me well, knows that this is a big deal.  I love this show.  Really, I love any show that is filmed in NYC.  I love or used to love this show because it was about relationships and love.  I have now come to realize that this show is bad for my well-being.  The focus is on having a man and if you have no man, then you are a boring old hag.  And I find very little of the kind of love that I want in my life in the show.  I have watched this show for years and I have seen every episode MANY times and can quote most of them by heart.  Sad, I know.  Unhealthy, too.  I am changing my priorities and I need to change what I am allowing into my mind.  Watching this show over and over and over again goes against how I want my life to be.  I am content on my own.  Life is good and I am happy.  SATC challenges this and makes it difficult to maintain that level of satisfaction.  If I wanted to be a whore, gold-digger, or a cynic, not to mention display many levels of neuroses, I would continue to watch this show.  I recognize that this may be drastic, yet every night I was watching at least 3-4 episodes.  I believe that much viewing affected my view of what a relationship should be.  So SATC will no longer be in my line-up.  I will fill it with more edifying shows, like “The Office.”  Don’t be fooled: I will surely miss it and I will go see the movie when it comes out.