Un-Valentine’s Day

12 02 2008

sex_and_the_city_iso.jpg

Valentine’s Day is the dumbest “holiday.”  I usually find myself in one of two situations, one pretending to be into someone, due to the fact that he 1.) Present and available and 2.) Has a heartbeat.  I much prefer little ways of showing love and concern throughout the year.  I have had a few boyfriends that were really good at it.  It means more to me to have the man in my life remember little things that I like-favorite food, favorite TV shows, favorite movies.  The second situation, I find myself in much more frequently, is alone.   

Also, it was on Valentine’s Day eleven years ago that I was in a serious car accident.  My mom now views V-Day as the “day Tina didn’t die.”  This reason really has nothing to do with this post.  So read on.

I cancelled “Sex and the City” from my DVR rotation.  Anyone who knows me well, knows that this is a big deal.  I love this show.  Really, I love any show that is filmed in NYC.  I love or used to love this show because it was about relationships and love.  I have now come to realize that this show is bad for my well-being.  The focus is on having a man and if you have no man, then you are a boring old hag.  And I find very little of the kind of love that I want in my life in the show.  I have watched this show for years and I have seen every episode MANY times and can quote most of them by heart.  Sad, I know.  Unhealthy, too.  I am changing my priorities and I need to change what I am allowing into my mind.  Watching this show over and over and over again goes against how I want my life to be.  I am content on my own.  Life is good and I am happy.  SATC challenges this and makes it difficult to maintain that level of satisfaction.  If I wanted to be a whore, gold-digger, or a cynic, not to mention display many levels of neuroses, I would continue to watch this show.  I recognize that this may be drastic, yet every night I was watching at least 3-4 episodes.  I believe that much viewing affected my view of what a relationship should be.  So SATC will no longer be in my line-up.  I will fill it with more edifying shows, like “The Office.”  Don’t be fooled: I will surely miss it and I will go see the movie when it comes out.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2008
babbo

Breaking habits is sometimes the hardest thing to do. I think you have the right idea. A holiday shouldn’t be needed to have romance or show appreciation. I always tell my family that every day is like Christmas because I have them.

Something tells me you will be attracting more positive energy into your life, and in turn men who have more than one dimension.

Best of luck! And byt the way, Californication is an awesome show. But I might like it because I am a writer.

Peace,

Joey
http://www.daddybrain.wordpress.com

15 02 2008
Sandra

I’m somewhat drugged and only a portion of this blog makes sense right now, but I promise to read the rest of it tomorrow, when I’m not so loopy! But I think I have the gist of it and if I don’t you can smack me. You should watch Cashmere Mafia on ABC. Those women rock!! We should see if we can get in on a taping when were in NYC!!!! It’s based there. Wait a minute, was this post about T.V. at all…Oh goodness I should go lay down. Goodnight rockstar!

Leave a Reply

