No title

16 02 2008

Today I had a wonderful mother-son moment with Jake.  We were in the car and he asked me to turn the radio off.  And he starts talking, which is not unusual.  Jake is a BIG TALKER.  Though, today, he did not speak of the Bionicles.  He told me about a conversation he had with a couple of girls in his class.  One of these girls said that all the boys in the class who talk all the time are dorks, except a few boys.  Jake asked if he was one of the dorks.  Yes, was their reply.  I could tell that he was really hurt.  For the life of me, I will never understand why people feel the need to be mean.  Especially to my precious boy.

I said, “Who cares what they think?” 

“Yeah…”he mumbles.

“I am a dork,” I state, thinking, if I can’t beat him, join him.

“You’re not a dork, Mom.”  Those are the sweetest words that I have ever heard.  Well, other than, “I love you, Mom.”

Well, he thinks that for now.  Ask him again in a few years.  Because, we all KNOW that I am a really big dork.

Anyway, I talked to him about relationships and people and hopefully, he feels that he can continue to talk to me whenever stuff like this comes up.  I am so grateful to have such a wonderful son.

I love being a mom!
 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

